Book Collecting Prizes

Adler Prize Winner Images
Elmer Adler Prize Winners 2018. From left to right Grace Masback ’21, Annabel Barry ’19, Alexander Gottdiener ’19, Rasheeda A. Saka ’20, Kiara Gilbert ’21. Not pictured Lavinia Liang ’18. Image credit University of Princeton Library

THE BOOK COLLECTOR is thrilled to share details of these Book Collecting Competitions from across the US and the UK.

These prizes inspire a new generation of fresh, motivated young collectors, and we would love to see them thrive.

If you would like more information or have been involved in a Book Collecting Prize and wish to share your experience, please contact Sarah Bennett at

See below a comprehensive list of existing prizes in the UK and US.

Click on an entry to visit the competition’s home page.

UK Prizes

Rose Book Collecting Prize, Cambridge University Library

Colin Franklin Book Collecting Prize, Bodleian Library, University of Oxford

Anthony Davis Book Collecting Prize, Senate House Library, London

David Laing Book Collecting Prize, University of Edinburgh

James David Forbes Book Collecting Prize, University of St. Andrews

The Thomas Reid Prize for Book Collecting, University of Aberdeen

David Murray Prize, University of Glasgow

Tony Fothergill Book Collecting Prize, University of York

National Book Collecting Prize, Antiquarian Booksellers Association US Prizes

US Prizes

National Collegiate Book Collecting Contest, Antiquarian Booksellers Association of America

HGARC Student Book Collecting Contest, Boston University

Stillwell Book Collecting Prize John Carter Brown Library, Brown University

Seymour Adelman Book Collector’s Prize, Bryn Mawr College

Hill-Shumate Book Collecting Prize University of California Berkeley Library

Adam Repán Petko Student Book Collecting Competition, University of California Riverside

Book Collecting Contest, Case Western Reserve University

UCO Friends of the Library Book Collection Contest, University of Central Oklahoma

John and Margaret Class Student Book Collection Contest, Chapman University

T. Kimball Brooker Prize for Undergraduate Book Collecting, University of Chicago

Andrew T. Nadell Prize for Book Collecting, Duke University Libraries

Applestein-Sweren Book Collecting Prize, Goucher College

Philip Hofer Prize for Collecting Books or Art, Harvard University

Visiting Committee Prize for Undergraduate Book Collecting, Harvard University

Snyder Book Collecting Contest, University of Kansas

Student Book Collecting Contest, Mississippi State University

Student Book Collecting Competition, Oberlin College

Elmer Adler Undergraduate Book Collecting Prize, Princeton University Library

Book Collecting Contest University of Puget Sound

Slocum Award Student Book Collecting Competition, Scripps College

Wreden Prize, Stanford University

A.E. Newton Award, Swarthmore College

Nicole Basbanes Book Collecting Contest, Sweet Briar University

Webster Book Prize, Trinity College

BSUVA Book Collecting Contest, University of Virginia

Carl Neureuther Student Book Collection Essay Competition, Washington University in St. Louis

Adrian Van Sinderen Book Collecting Prize Yale University

In addition to the University Prizes, Honey & Wax Rare Bookstore in New York run the Book Collecting Prize for Young Female Book Collectors.

In September 2018 Ben Kinmont, Chair of the Northern California Chapter of the ABAA, launched The California Young Book Collector’s Prize open to all collectors aged 35 and under. THE BOOK COLLECTOR will be proudly sponsoring this prize.

The Book Collector Podcasts

Articles from our Archive brought to life in audio - listen now via

Subscribe    -    Current Issue    -    Podcasts

Flower Icon